Streets of Chance Poetry

💭 Mind Mechanism Of Thought (a.k.a Retrieve)

Last Updated: 2 months ago

This one was kind of led by a conversation with a friend about fears of trusting people, savior complexes and CPTSD emotional flashbacks, as well as my own fears of loss.

Sometimes, when I'm wondering

I wonder more

What is this way we have, to think?

This mind

This mechanism of thought that brings us

Often to the brink

Of despair

And yet

Brings hope?

There are things

I wonder if not to say

And those thoughts I wish

Would just go away

There are people I long

In their pain to embrace

But all of that falls often down on its face

Because sometimes,

It's just about me, me, me

What I think is being kind,

Is my brain not being free

Sometimes, I think

It's not really what they need

It's just the pain in my brain

Playing up around my feet

Though then the brain plays tricks

Because perhaps you are too kind

It tells you no

Don't leave more than yourself behind!

Don't relax, don't take hold

Be tense and take flight!

Or fight

Or freeze

Resist it all!

Do not let love and safety be your own downfall!

But pause

Rest

Breathe

Take a beat.

As your heart slows.

It's not all that

It's not all that

You can get off your feet

Though it's ok to pace

You can also sit down

And rest.

Transcend

Descend

Rescind

Re-send

Unwind

There's more to you than you've left behind

Don't yet leave,

Believe

Retrieve

Reprieve

And remember

That it's ok

To just grieve

It's ok if you can't yet let them leave

And it's ok

If you need time to receive

And I know

That one day

You will believe

I've got me

You've got you

We've got we

It will be

Ok

And even without us

When we're gone

One or both of us

It will be

Ok

In fact

It will always be.

Ok?




Thanks for reading! Subscribe to my free newsletter or follow my RSS feed!

#CPTSD #abuse #deconstruction #foruna #friends #grief #hope #listening #loss #lovedones #motivation #nihilism #overthinking #overwhelm #perfectionism #processing #purpose #recovery #selfawareness #suffering #vulnerability #📃Poetry