Streets of Chance Poetry

🥪 Eulogy For The Last Sandwich I Ever Ate (Last Week)

Last Updated: 2 months ago

Just A playful poem.


Alas, poor sandwich,

I barely knew you

And yet,

So obliging were you on your way down.

Garlic bread

Bought at Xpresso

The R12 coffee shop.

But you lived a full life

Experienced more than most other garlic rolls

Who pass through that way

As the man behind the counter eagerly informed me

That to add chicken to my garlic roll

And make it a sandwich

For just an extra R12

Was certainly the way to go!

And so, this was the way you did go.

Thus, full and rich was your life,

Not empty as most,

And you knew what it was to have an existence

Of greater substance

And flavour.

In fact, I waited for you,

Patiently, until we were united.

And truly, it felt like fate,

For almost did they introduce to me the wrong order

Before realising, just in time

Else our ill-fated but meant-to-be match

Might never have happened!

But we were indeed united

In the fullness of your life

Up till the point of your death

All taking place in that coffeeshop

For you were too good to take home and introduce to my loved ones.

Our time together was brief

But so meaningful

Culminating in your demise

And an end to my ravenous hunger.

You rest in pieces in my stomach

Removed far from this mortal sandwich plain

(Though in truth, not plain, but full)

Of existence, at peace.

Truly, you were the best I could ever hope to meet

And I am convinced that

Rich though Cape Town be with blessed cuisine experiences,

Still, I shall not see, smell or taste your like again.




Thanks for reading! Subscribe to my free newsletter or follow my RSS feed!

#food #humour #📃Poetry