Streets of Chance Poetry

📃🪶 Comfort, Deferred

Last Updated: 3 months, 3 weeks ago

For those who never experienced that comfort and love they needed to in their lives, and those who died too soon and too young without knowing it at all. And for those who have kept deferring except in moments where suddenly fear, and mortality, interrupts the deferring we do to carry on, and to not think about where what's left of our lives is heading, and what we truly want or need.
It's my personal hope that if you read this, you won't read it with despair, but with hope - with the realisation that whatever time you have left, you still have time - to live for, to the best of your ability, what you truly want; not what others have told you to settle for in diminishing you what you deserve.

No Warm Hand

I felt it, as I lay dying.
The memory I'd deferred.

The urgings, the feelings, the longing.

The suppressed nostalgias because they'd been too painful to deal with in the moment.

As life had passed, and kept passing by.


And there's always been more surviving to do instead.

Oh no.



Oh no

I realised as I lay dying, as I felt the life leaving, pulsing, pumping out of my body.

It was too late.

I never got to hold a hand. I never got to hold that warm hand, after all.


That comfort I always wanted, to remind me I was alive, warm, living, safe, protected. That comfort.

Deferred....

It would have to never come, after all




Thanks for reading! Subscribe to my free newsletter or follow my RSS feed!

#CPTSD #authenticrelating #focus #friends #grief #honesty #impermanence #loss #lovedones #motivation #prioritization #purpose #recovery #selfawareness #suffering #vulnerability #📃Poetry