Streets of Chance Poetry

📃🪶 Capacity To Wonder

Last Updated: 3 months, 3 weeks ago

Perhaps there is no "good" or "bad" art, but only the human capacity to wonder and to be plugged into the universe, and to desire, no, to NEED to express what we see.
"We are the universe, looking back on itself."1

Capacity To Wonder

What a great experience

Is capacity to wonder

That this evolved ape

Should experience it


A short

Series of trips around the sun

From in an infinite-looping-back-on-itself universe

Do I receive, to glimpse it all and perhaps record some, and capacities of thoughts to share for others to enjoy

Before I let out my breath with a sigh, grateful

For what was a brief but beautiful, gift of life.

I guess now I know

Why some choose to reproduce

Rather than to leave themselves there

Behind


But I choose to write!

And perhaps create art to be seen and felt!

Because I can't fight the creative spirit!

No! No more!


1 Quote attributed in various forms to Alan W. Watts




Thanks for reading! Subscribe to my free newsletter or follow my RSS feed!

#creativity #purpose #selfawareness #writing #📃Poetry